B.C. General Election 2020: 6 out of 22 Punjabis won so far

B.C. General Election 2020 Punjabis won so far
Share News:

For the 2020 British Columbia (B.C.) general election, a total of 22 Punjabis are fielded in 15 constituencies, with most of them pitted against each other.

Preliminary voting results of the provincial general election are coming in after the polls closed at 8 p.m. PT.

Of the 22 Punjabi candidates, 11 candidates are from the ruling B.C. New Democratic Party (NDP), 9 from B.C. Liberal Party and 2 from B.C. Vision party.

Following are the details of candidates of Punjabi origin who have won/re-elected —

  • Burnaby-Edmunds

B.C. NDP leader Raj Chauhan has defeated Liberal’s Tripat Atwal with 695 votes. He is projected to win the seat.

  •  Delta North 

Incumbent B.C. NDP MLA Ravi Kahlon is projected to be re-elected in his riding, defeating the Liberals with 1,246 votes.

  • Surrey-Fleetwood

Incumbent  B.C. NDP MLA Jagroop Brar is projected to be re-elected, as he is winning by 2,333 votes.

  • Surrey-Newton

NDP incumbent MLA Harry Bains has won with 2,601 votes. He is projected to win the seat.

  • Vancouver-Hastings

B.C. NDP leader Niki Sharma has won with 5,323 votes. She is projected to win the seat in the riding.

  • Surrey-Green Timbers

Rachna Singh of the B.C. NDP is projected to win in the riding of Surrey-Green Timbers.

  • Surrey-Panorama

BC NDP incumbent Jinny Sims will be re-elected in Surrey-Panorama.

  • Richmond-Queensborough

Unseating BC Liberal Jas Johal, BC NDP candidate Aman Singh projected to win in Richmond-Queensborough.

leave a reply