Civic Polls: Congress wins six of seven municipal corporations in Punjab

Civic Polls Punjab
Share News:

CHANDIGARH, FEBRUARY 17: The ruling Congress won six of the seven municipal corporations in the civic polls in Punjab for which results were declared on Wednesday, said officials.

The Congress won in Abohar, Batala, Bathinda, Hoshiarpur, Kapurthala, and Pathankot.

The seventh corporation’s results was expected later in the day. Counting of votes for yet another corporation will take place on Thursday.

The backdrop of the farmers’ agitation against the BJP-led government at the Centre has come as a boost for the Congress in the election outcome and is also eyeing to win the assembly elections due early next year.

The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) failed to make a mark in the elections for the municipal corporations.

Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee President Sunil Jakhar said people have rejected ‘negative politics’ of parties like the AAP, BJP and SAD.

“We contested on the development agenda. This victory will embolden our workers to work hard,” Jakhar told reporters.

The State Election Commission had ordered repolling at two booths for the Mohali municipal corporation. Therefore, the counting for the entire civic body will take place on Thursday.

More than 70 per cent voting was recorded in the civic body elections on February 14.

Altogether 9,222 candidates contested the polls to the eight municipal corporations and 109 municipal councils.

The Congress fielded 2,037 candidates, the SAD 1,569, the BJP 1,003, the AAP 1,606 and the BSP 160. As many as 2,832 were independents.

leave a reply